Volunteer Spotlight: May

Lauren Levenstein
Arlington, VA

Lauren first became active with NARAL Pro-Choice Virginia as an activist after last year’s “Sipping for the States” Happy Hour and has since become one of our most active, reliable, and dedicated volunteers. With a history of working in reproductive rights, Lauren helped launch our Monthly Webinar Series by supporting the planning of our “ReproHealth 101” webinar. Thank you, Lauren, for all the work you do, and will continue to do, on behalf of reproductive freedom!

What makes you pro-choice?

I am pro-choice because I believe that private, medical decisions are complex and should not be governed by legislators. I strongly believe that all those who can bear children should have the full range of choices available and accessible to them to be healthy and plan their families. My mother was an abortion provider and the medical director of a Planned Parenthood – I am proud to continue her legacy of advocacy at this most crucial time for reproductive health and rights.

What made you decide to get involved with NARAL Pro-Choice Virginia?

Soon after starting college, I became active in my university’s FMLA chapter and at the end of my freshman year, we voyaged to DC for the March for Women’s Lives in 2004. Since that time, I have been determined to be an activist, a donor, and a supporter of keeping abortion safe, legal, and accessible to all those who decide to have the service. I’m so glad I can join the fight on a local level, in my own state, where abortion rights are always under threat.

What’s been your favorite or most meaningful NARAL Pro-Choice Virginia event?

I really enjoyed the reproductive health “101” by Dr. Sara Imershein, I thought it was informative and useful to my personal advocacy. The recent screening of the documentary Trapped was deeply meaningful and thought provoking for me as well.

What advice would you give to other volunteers or activists looking to support NARAL Pro-Choice Virginia’s work?

Small organizations rely on their volunteers. Our rights in VA literally hang in the balance with a very hostile legislature. Any time or donations you have to give will go further than you think for NARAL VA, women in VA, and for the cause at large. The personal reward is immense as well.

Tell us a fun fact about you!

During my first and only ride thus far in a hot air balloon, we had to make an “emergency” landing in a cow pasture after our gas started to run low. It was an amazing ride and one interesting adventure that followed!

Leave a Reply

