What Today Means To Me

By Melissa Weger

When I was just 3 years old, Roe. V Wade became the law of the land. I grew up never knowing anything different — but I heard the stories. Stories of women seeking illegal abortions in back alleys, stories of women losing their lives during unsafe procedures, stories of women resorting to self-inducing because there were no other options. This seemed like a far off reality. It wasn’t until I was 23 years old and I was faced with an unintended pregnancy that I learned firsthand the importance of legal abortion.

Today, on the 43rd anniversary of the Supreme Court’s Roe. V. Wade decision, I am grateful to have had access to safe and quality care without barriers such as waiting periods, forced ultrasounds, or deceptive providers. Everyone deserves the right to choose whether or not to have a child. It is fundamental to being able to live a self-determined life. And because I had a safe abortion, I was able to finish college and begin my career. I’m grateful – especially today – for the Supreme Court’s decision to legalize abortion, and I will continue to fight to make sure it stays that way.

 

Leave a Reply

