A sweet farewell!

By Nicole Linder, Spring 2015 Advocacy & Communications Intern. Connect with Nicole at @NALinder or nicole@naralva.org.

Well, folks, it’s time to say goodbye! As the time winds down and the workday concludes, I will be saying goodbye to my friends and colleagues at NARAL Pro-Choice Virginia and moving forward in the world with new experiences and a stronger voice in the fight for reproductive rights.

These last eight months as NARAL Pro-Choice Virginia’s Advocacy and Communications Intern have been nothing but wonderful! I have gained so much from this experience and am truly grateful for all of the lessons I have learned along the way.

From day one I have been amazed by the work of our volunteer base and have loved corresponding with activists and witnessing their sheer dedication to reproductive rights. They [NARAL Pro-Choice Virginia volunteers and activists] are proof that everyday citizens, like you and I, can make a difference in issues that affect us all. To me, that is remarkable!

There are many other takeaways that I will carry with me beyond our Old Towne, Alexandria office. I am thankful for the opportunities this internship has provided me and loved learning more about the inter-workings of a nonprofit, Virginia’s political climate, and the fight to protect choice.

What’s next on my agenda? I’m looking forward to spending the summer with my friends and family before heading to Mozambique to teach English with the Peace Corps. During my 27 months of Peace Corps service I plan to continue my involvement in women’s issues–hopefully working with local organizations to advance women’s health and betterment. Feel free to keep in contact and follow my adventures!

Cheers! 🙂

Leave a Reply

