A Farewell Post

By: Marieke van Rijn, Advocacy and Communications Intern

As my semester interning for NARAL Pro-Choice Virginia is coming to an end today, I wanted to write a post to reflect on my time here.

This was quite the semester to work with NARAL Pro-Choice Virginia! I must admit that before this semester I did not pay too close attention to local and statewide politics. After knocking on over 200 doors, writing profiles for pro-choice House of Delegates candidates, I learned a lot about the value of mobilizing a community and electing pro-choice candidates to the local government. I’m really thankful for being able to take part in some of the efforts that helped elect pro-choice candidates on the statewide ballot and in the General Assembly.

Along with working on the election, I also helped with some research on Crisis Pregnancy Centers and am currently helping with our latest campaign, #hope4prochoiceva. I have learned a lot in my time here, and though I am leaving, this will not be the end of my involvement with NARAL Pro-Choice Virginia! I hope to continue the fight for prioritizing women’s reproductive rights over politics and to help Virginia become the pro-choice commonwealth it should be.

Thank you all for reading! I’ll see you guys at the next NARAL Pro-Choice Virginia event!

Leave a Reply

